Fundraising news, ideas and inspiration for professional charity fundraisers

National Fundraising Awards 2018 open for entries with new Best Donor Experience category

National Fundraising Awards 2018 open for entries with new Best Donor Experience category

The (IoF) has opened nominations for its 2018 National Fundraising with the launch of new category: Best Donor Experience.

The new Best Donor Experience award seeks charities or individuals to enter for experiences that celebrate putting donors at the heart of fundraising.

The 2018 National Fundraising Awards are now in their 28th year. This year’s winners will be announced at the Brewery in London on Monday 2 July, during the IoF’s Fundraising Convention.

Chris Washington-Sare, Chair of the Special Interest Group on the Donor Experience said:

“The new Donor Experience award will celebrate and applaud truly consistent donor-based approaches to fundraising. The award is intended to celebrate those charities and fundraisers that have delivered campaigns, or even individual supporter experiences, that represent the very best examples of excellent relationship fundraising.”

UK Fundraising’s Howard Lake, Chair of the Awards Judging Panel added:

“The National Fundraising Awards are simply one of the best ways of sharing fundraising success and achievements. What works, how and why: it’s what every fundraiser wants keep up to date with, so that they can apply the ideas for their charity. The team of experienced judges gets the privilege of reading the detail of several hundred outstanding fundraising campaigns, and then the responsibility of picking the very best. It takes a good couple of days of their donated time, and yes, there are long debates.”

More information on the event is available on the dedicated Awards website, including the general rules, criteria and how to apply. The deadline for nominations is Friday 23 March 2018.

The other categories, as last year, are:

  • Best Business-Charity Partnership
  • Best Individual Giving Campaign
  • Best Use of Digital
  • Best Use of Events
  • Best Legacy Campaign
  • Fundraising Charity of the Year – Large
  • Fundraising Charity of the Year – Small
  • Most Innovative Fundraising Campaign
  • Best Fundraising Newcomer
  • Best Young Fundraiser (15 years or under)
  • Best Volunteer Fundraiser
  • Most Committed Company to the Sector
  • Gill Astarita Fundraiser of the Year
  • Lifetime Contribution Award


Melanie May is a journalist and copywriter specialising in writing both for and about the charity and marketing services sectors since 2001. She can be reached via

Get free email updates

Keep up to date with fundraising news, ideas and inspiration with a weekly or daily email. [Privacy]

* We do not share your email or personal details.
" />