Fundraising news, ideas and inspiration for professional charity fundraisers

Call for entries to Insight in Fundraising Awards 2016

Call for entries to Insight in Fundraising Awards 2016

The IoF in Fundraising Special Interest Group is inviting charity analysts,  teams and specialists, whether in-house or suppliers, to submit their entries to the fifth  in Fundraising . There are 11 award categories and entries can be submitted at no cost.

The use of data and analysis in charity fundraising have in the past year been the subject of widespread public, media and government scrutiny. Awards that recognise best practice in these areas are therefore all the more valuable to the sector, its beneficiaries, and to those that support charities.

Jim Baggett, chair of the ’s Insight Special Interest Group (SIG) and MD of Wood For Trees, said:

“Our landscape has fundamentally changed. In recent months we have seen changes to the Code of Fundraising Practice, the Etherington Report, a new Fundraising Regulator and the announcement of a Fundraising Preference service.

“So too, the advent of opt-in moves closer and yet there is still debate and confusion about the detail. The European Data Regulator seems to have diluted its original hard line and the ICO will be following their lead – but for sure, new regulations are likely to restrict charities’ access to and use of cold data”.

He added that these major changes mean that the role of charity analysts has become even more important. He said:

“It is now more important than ever that charities ‘box clever’ with their existing databases within new regulations and without alienating donors, so as to maximise insight, engagement and long term value for both charity and supporter”.

The award winners will be announced at a gala dinner held at the Café de Paris on 8 June.

IoF National Awards 2016

In addition, once again, the winners of the Insight in Fundraising Awards 2016 will be shortlisted for the Institute of Fundraising National Awards – Best Use of Insight category.

Insight award categories

This year the categories are:

  • Most powerful insight from traditional methods of data analysis
  • Most powerful insight using innovative methods of data analysis
  • Best use of data and analysis in digital fundraising
  • Most powerful insight through research
  • Most powerful example of insight sharing
  • Most powerful use of insight by a small to medium income charity
  • Most powerful insight from a long-term strategic project
  • Team of the Year
  • Supplier of the Year
  • Rising Star
  • Outstanding Contribution special award

The deadline to enter the Insight Awards is 5pm on 24 March 2016.



Howard Lake is a digital fundraising entrepreneur. Publisher of UK Fundraising, the world's first web resource for professional fundraisers, since 1994. Trainer and consultant in digital fundraising. Founder of Fundraising Camp.

Get free email updates

Keep up to date with fundraising news, ideas and inspiration with a weekly or daily email. [Privacy]

* We do not share your email or personal details.
" />