New Statesman launches New Media Awards 2006

Howard Lake | 10 February 2006 | News

Nominations are now open for this year’s The New Statesman New Media Awards, designed to highlight innovation, usability and efficiency in new media.

There are eight awards categories. Although open to for-profit, public and nonprofit organisations, most of the categories would seem particularly suited to entries from the charity and voluntary sectors:

· Contribution to civic society award
· Modernising government award
· Elected representative award
· Education award
· Independent information award
· Advocacy award
· Accessibility award
· Innovation award


The organisers are soliciting entries spanning all uses of new media technology, “from the web to wireless, blog to intranet, digital tv to mobile phone”.

Nominations can be made online and you are allowed to nominate your own project.