Why your supporters are wealthier than you expect. Course details.

eBay launches Dream Transfer to raise funds for football charity

Melanie May | 7 January 2022 | News

Roberto Carlos and Eni Aluko

eBay UK is supporting Football Beyond Borders this transfer season, giving any Sunday League team the chance to sign a football legend for £5, to play in one special match. The money will go to the charity, which will also feature at checkout for eBay customers until 30 January, to boost their donations.

With its Dream Transfer raffle, eBay is bringing retired legends Roberto Carlos and Eni Aluko back to the community football field in support of Football Beyond Borders.

Anyone associated with a Sunday League team can enter. Carlos and Aluko will each join one winning Sunday League team at the end of the Transfer Window, and could play in any part of the country – from Devon to Dundee. Midfielder Chris Kamara will also be bringing his commentary along to host the matches in February.


Why your supporters are wealthier than you think... Course by Catherine Miles. Background photo of two sides of a terraced street of houses.

Rob Hattrell, Head of eBay Europe said: 

“There is no collective bigger passion than football in the UK which is why we are bringing footballers on to eBay for the first time this Transfer Season. It is such a special moment, and we’re excited to see where Carlos and Aluko end up taking their Sunday League skills. Most importantly, we’re thrilled to have Football Beyond Borders at the heart of all the fun, with each entry meaning another fiver towards supporting young people to reach their full potential through sport.”

Eni Aluko added: 

“I’m passionate about football being a game for everyone, which is why this opportunity means a lot to me. Dream Transfer means anybody can get involved in the Transfer Window and get stuck into the action. Let the drama unfold! I’m looking forward to playing with a new team – whoever and wherever they might be.”

Entries are open now and will close on Friday 28 January. The winning teams will be announced on Monday 31 January in line with Deadline Day.