21 charities shortlisted for Charity Governance Awards

Melanie May | 5 April 2019 | News

Dementia UK, FareShare and the Muslim Women’s Network UK are among the 21 charities from across the UK shortlisted to receive one of seven Charity Governance Awards, each of which comes with a £5,000 unrestricted grant.
The Charity Governance Awards winners will be announced at the official awards reception at the Clothworkers’ Hall in London on 22 May, featuring a keynote speech by Nat Sloane CBE, England Chair for The National Community Lottery Fund.
Charity Governance Awards 2019 Shortlist 
Board Diversity and Inclusivity

Embracing Digital

Embracing Opportunity and Harnessing Risk


Improving Impact – charities with 3 staff or fewer

Improving Impact – charities with 4-25 paid staff

Improving Impact – charities with 26+ paid staff

Managing Turnaround

Michael Jarvis, who chairs the Awards for the organisers The Clothworkers’ Company, said:

“Congratulations to all these successful shortlisted candidates. The Charity Governance Awards may be in their fourth year, but we continue to hear about new and exciting initiatives from our entrants each year.
“Charities exist in a challenging climate, so successful governance stories from the frontline can provide powerful examples for the whole sector to follow. Our shortlisted candidates have proved that low budgets, limited resources and other pressures need not be an obstacle to digital innovation, building diverse and vibrant boards, or turning around the most difficult of situations.”

The judging panel included Dawn Austwick (CEO, The National Lottery Community Fund), Vinay Nair (Co-founder, Lightful), Dan Corry (CEO, New Philanthropy Capital), David Gold (CEO, Prospectus) and Janet Thorne (CEO, Reach Volunteering).
Main image: finalist FareShare